The Humanitarian Leadership Academy is organising its first webinar “Health and Nutrition in Emergencies – Lessons Learned” on Tuesday 25th July 2017 at 12pm UTC+1. The purpose of this webinar is to create awareness, generate discussion and share experiences about health and nutrition programming. We will focus on:

• The key nutritional and health issues to consider during an emergency;
• The key lessons learned, and any practical advice that can be shared, from the experts’ own experiences that can be used for current crises.

Length: 60 minutes, which will include presentations from two experts, followed by a Q&A session.

Speakers: Alexandra Rutishauser-Perera (Head of Nutrition, Action Against Hunger UK) and Nada Abdelmagid (Epidemiologist and Humanitarian Health Professional) – See their biographies below

Date and time: 25 July 2017, 12:00 London (7.00 New York; 14.00 Nairobi; 14.00 Amman; 17.00 Dhaka; 19.00 Manila)

Audience: This webinar is particularly targeted to those working in international and national NGOs – be they entry-level or experienced – who are engaged in health and nutrition programming and are seeking a stronger understanding of the key issues in this field, as well as insight into lessons learnt.

 

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hashtag #HNEwebinar

Speakers

Alexandra Rutishauser-Perera

Alexandra Rutishauser-Perera

Head of Nutrition, Action Against Hunger UK

Alexandra leads the Nutrition team of Action Against Hunger UK focusing on Information Management, Coverage surveys and Integrated Community Case Management of malnutrition.

She is a trained nurse with a post graduate in Tropical Medicine and holds a Masters on Nutrition for Global Health from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM). She has been working in the humanitarian field for the past 11 years with a focus on the field of public health nutrition in diverse settings (Emergency and Development) in more than 10 countries over Africa and Asia. Her work with different agencies had shaped her interest in linking different sectors with nutrition programmes such as health with her work with Medecins Sans Frontieres, protection and education with Save the Children and Food Security and Livelihoods with her Regional Nutrition Advisor’s role in International Medical Corps. She is lecturing at several universities: LSHTM, American University of Beirut and on the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine accredited Health and Nutrition in emergencies diploma.

Nada Abdelmagid

Epidemiologist and Humanitarian Health Professional

Nada is a Sudanese medical doctor, with an MSc in Epidemiology from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. Nada has worked with a number of national and international organisations delivering health programmes in emergency and recovery settings in Lebanon, Libya, Sudan, Syria, and Turkey among others. She filled a variety of roles that ranged from improving day-to-day delivery of health services to development of longer-term strategies. Nada has experience in field research, health advocacy, evidence-based program design and planning, and impact assessment of health programs. She is currently working as a freelance humanitarian health and epidemiology consultant.

Search